heh, yes, another Linux question

Way off-topic, and allowed! General discussions on anything and everything.

Moderator: EG Members

Kelsaurian
imanewbie

heh, yes, another Linux question

Post by Kelsaurian »

yep, 'nother beginner here. im building my first comp and i want linux to be my new OS. i have very basic needs, and i'm aware there are TONS of linux versions out there. i need some help/advice/suggestions on the best version based on my needs/use.

Something:
- somewhat minimalistic, yet with room for expansion. i dont need a shitload of bells and wistles.
- networking capabilities
- music - storage, manipulation, playing
- Office-type functions - i have a lot of work to do. i will be mostly using this thing for work, document, presentation creation, and music playing.
- customizable appearance - themes, etc
- customizable organization/folders/layout/locaiton of files/items, etc
- secure - from viruses/worms, etc
- STABLITY - nuff said
- images - handle LARGE files, manipulation/editing
- video/movies - viewing, manipulation, very basic needs here.
- communication - need for chat
- graphic interface - not skilled w/ the code lingo stuff... ya know.
- relatively low maintenance/ stress free. one thing i hate about windows is having to CONSTANTLY get new security patches and shit.
- im not looking to develop or program in the near future. maybe eventually, but not a top priority right now. very back burner.

I am not a PC gamer. thus, i am not concerned with anything i could play games on. this will be a work/storage/music machine. very basic. that, and my dreams of owning a new mac powerbook have been shot. :[ otherwise i'd just do that. i will be doing primarity research related stuff with my comp. most research labs run ONLY macs. thats the primary reason i wanted one...